ABOUT SICFIT SCOTTSDALE

Passing The Torch


With every new beginning comes some other beginning’s end.

This month we are overjoyed with several major achievements in our life including Najla and I celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary, our daughter Camille’s 8th birthday and 10 years of coaching, owning and operating SICFIT in Scottsdale, formerly knows as CrossFit Scottsdale Powered by: Kayyem Fitness.

We have so many amazing people to thank that have been such a big part of our lives over the years and I am going to do my personal best to convey the heartfelt emotion going into writing this blog. We would like to start by thanking you, the students of our amazing Fitness School. Without you we would not be!

In the past 10 years we have coached over 3,000 students, completed over 10,000 baselines, and taught over 20,000 hours of fitness and nutrition to the residents of Scottsdale and those visiting us from around the globe.

More importantly we have eliminated over 4,000 lbs of documented body fat from our bodies and added countless years to our lives.

Those of you who know me personally know I am always a man of truth, transparency and often un-apologetic authenticity. My target for you during this read is to be inspired, committed and enthusiastic for the changes and improvements happening around the gym and the future of your own personal fitness program.

I can honestly say this has been the greatest 10 years of my entire life and I’ll even go as far as saying it might be the best I will ever have.

My son Kanon was a year old when we moved to Scottsdale in October of 2007. Born in the same hospital as me 26 years earlier at Cedars- Sinai in Los Angeles we were actively looking for any reason to relocate and not raise our own family in Hollywood.

Our move from Los Angeles to Scottsdale came quick as the house we rented on top of Mulholland drive was going to be put on the market and our young family was not in any situation to buy a home in Sherman Oaks.

My wife Najla an executive with Caruso Affiliated, “The Grove” an iconic landmark on 3rd and La Brea had been scouted to work on a new project in North Phoenix called CityNorth.

Within weeks we had packed up and began the move to Arizona. Along with the news we were having baby #2, Najla, Kanon, Ziggy, me, and baby to be (Camille) were in route to our new home at Horseman’s Park the neighborhood across the street from Notre Dame Prep.

A community we found online and immediately fell in love with site unseen.

IMG_4361

The Best part about the home we found was the Real estate agents listing the house were none other than Devra & Carol Tousley (+ Chris Tousley) longtime friends and members of the gym since we opened in 2008 and our first real friends here in Scottsdale. After renting for a year we would move into our dream home and the Tousley’s would become our next door neighbors.

Upon moving I took the first job I could find training at the local Gold’s Gym. My four week tenure there was very monumental and life changing now that I look back on the series of events that unfolded in our first few months in Scottsdale.

One of our founding members, Tina Vange, came in to Gold’s to meet with me shortly after having a baby of her own. 9 years later Tina and I continue to train together twice a week as she has worked hard to eliminate and keep the baby weight off and returning to her pre-pregnancy size.

Tina would later bring in her brother Marc who needed a lifestyle change and an accountability coach. 8 years later Marc has lost and kept off over one hundred pounds from his body and continues to reach new personal records and milestones including 5 strict bodyweight pull-ups and racking up over 2 million meters on his personal concept 2 rower.

My next significant relationship in Scottsdale came shortly after meeting Tina. As I was walking an elderly man through the gym floor and assisting him on and off of a few machines, I was approached by a curious member who asked me who I was and where I had come from? Her name was Toby Schultz.

Stating she had never seen any “Trainers” care for a client as I did and never had witnessed one working with someone so old. I simply smiled and explained my story and my WHY? A message I continue to share wherever I go and with as many folks as possible.

That is how I first met Toby and Buddy Schultz… my adopted parents and the two people I was in the middle of coaching when Najla’s water broke with Camille while training at the location of our next facility – the “Edge On Wellness”.

The Edge was a wellness center and hair salon located on 92nd street and Shea, directly across the street from the hospital where Camille was born. The gym was a 700-square foot room with no windows, pergo wood floors, and door-to-door mirrors. It was so not functional, we had to install a pull up bar in the ceiling and use treadmills for our runs.

Looking back it was definitely not the ideal location for the first CrossFit in Scottsdale but having adapted so many times, it was the perfect facility to create our vision and build our fitness business.

A business and brand built on integrity and standards. And so our foundation for family, fitness, and community in North Scottsdale was born.

This is also where I first met so many amazing clients and friends that are still with us today like Stephanie Woods [TRIBE 001] and original CrossFit Scottsdale members Richard Shields, Reem Kidess, and Gwen Whitfill.

Our reputation proceeded us as we introduced many new people in our community to CrossFit and Olympic Weightlifting. As our membership grew fast within months, we had maxed out our new space and were looking to expand.

We secured a location at 14885 North 83rd place, 1,000 yards from the Golds Gym where it all began and 2 miles away from our amazing neighborhood at Horseman’s Park, all within a year and a half of settling in to our new community.

FullSizeRender 14

 The fact that I was able to do it with my wife and high school sweet heart Najla
while raising two very special children makes me the most fortunate man on earth.

As our business began to really take off in 2009, so would the explosion of CrossFit and within a year several of our students, coaches, and friends would all open up competing gyms in North Scottsdale. A lesson in business was quickly handed to us as we began to do our own soul searching on who and what we wanted our personal brand and legacy to become.

Around that time Najla and I accepted every opportunity we were given to stand out in such a crowded space. I trained under Mark Divine at SEALFIT in Encinitas, filmed underground videos with Syn Martinez of Afrobrutality in Harlem, became Dave Castro’s go-to for CrossFit coaching certifications in the Southwest, had Greg Glassman in our suite at the CrossFit Games, and produced the Europa Games introducing the SICest of the Southwest competition series.

After we created Friday Night Lights, the first live competition of the worldwide open, our brand began to get global notoriety. I was offered the opportunity to fly to Austin for a photo shoot with Jeremy Thiel – founder of CrossFit Central, the Blueprint, Garage Gym and his new start-up an online video and clothing company called SICFIT.

Little did we know that this trip to Austin would become the sole spark we needed to eventually acquire the global lifestyle brand, take the company into the physical gym space, and move into the “Future of Fitness”.

An extremely challenging family decision would be made to leave the CrossFit Affiliation and begin the process of rebranding and building our own systems, standards, and structure.

If you think starting a new job is hard, try re-branding an established business that you have been running for years. Another great lesson in entrepreneurship and a core value at SICFIT.

Our vision has always been to create a higher quality of life for our members and staff and to help them feel better when they leave us then when they arrived.

We showed our coaches how to go above and beyond what the industry standards are and we gave back to our neighborhood by actively participating in community events, volunteering our time at schools, donating to worthy causes, and teaching our students how to live healthy, active and energetic lifestyles for a lifetime.

I could not have written this chapter of my life any bigger or better nor would I want to change a single page of it!

Today we celebrate the officially passing of the torch to long time member, 2010 Athlete of the Year, teammate, networker, husband, father, and friend, Matt Blanton. Matt’s passion for learning, relentless focus and ability to keep cool under chaos is a natural skill that he has mastered over the years in business and in life. He’s the owner of Printing Solutions and President of EO Accelerators, and together with his Back on the Bar business partner, Justin Baumgartner, will officially be taking over the gym operations on July 1st.

189269_153657664694772_7788350_n
The photo above is of Matt and I going head to head in the Open 11.1 at Friday Night Lights.

Justin, also a family man, organic chef, and resident DJ for the SICest of the Southwest and The CrossFit Games comes on board with a wealth of knowledge and experience in the Olympic lifting world. Justin was also one of our first members-turned-coaches back in 2010 and has since learned a ton on the art of coaching.

We are grateful for every step of this journey that we have been able to take with you and so very thankful to be keeping the gym in the family.

As clients, you put your trust in us with the single most important item in your life: your body! In return we promised to prescribe you the right amount of intensity, work and correct movements…while creating an amazing experience.

To the coaches and staff who have had to put up with our meticulous standards, constant evaluations, and OCD based cleanliness…you guys are what makes this place run class after class and hour after hour. Your commitment and dedication to lead from the front and make people better makes us proud to have you on our team.

So what’s next for us? Our belief is that FITness is a never-ending journey that evolves, grows and embraces CHANGE.

As constant innovators and early adopters in the functional fitness industry, we are proud to introduce our newest concept. A natural progression in the future of personal health, lifestyle, and technology. The Fittest Tribe Alive  is an on-demand, remote, and virtual coaching program that features a global community of health-conscious and active individuals looking for adventures, races, challenges, and coaching on how to live a higher quality of life.

This new coaching model allows my father-in-law in Beirut to be held accountable for walking on the treadmill. It gives an executive client in New York City access to the video coaching library, and gives Tribe members weekly Training Assignments that can be completed from anywhere and at anytime with little to no equipment.

It also gives us the freedom to fulfill our passion for delivering health and wellness to change the lives of thousands of people around the world.

From the bottom of our hearts and to the end of our souls we want to personally thank everyone who has ever stepped foot in our door, taken one of our classes, attended a seminar, participated in a challenge, competed in one of our events or taken a walk with us around the block. THANK YOU!

In Great Health,
Luke and Najla Kayyem

Are You Ready to Change Your Life?

 

Strength in Conditioning for Monday, February 2, 2015

To us at SICFIT Scottsdale, we aren’t just in the business of functional fitness, we are in the business of changing lives. Looking good and feeling good go together and our Strength in Conditioning program helps folks build both!

Check out this photo of our January, 2015 athlete of the month, Gelie. Aside from the incredible transformation she made by losing weight and increasing her muscle tone, her confident smirk in the “after” photo exemplifies the most important change that SICFIT Scottsdale helped her (and can help you!) achieve.

That smirk reveals Gelie’s, sense of… “look what I did,” “look at the result of all that hard work,” “I am so proud of myself!”

SICFIT Scottsdale does much more than teach exercises and motivate people through workouts. We show people that they have the power to change their own lives. And this is exactly what Gelie, with a little SIC direction, did!

If you are really to change your life too, call today to schedule your first session, FREE. 480.922.3253 

Screen Shot 2015-02-02 at 7.32.07 AM

1000 Ways To Die

Teams of 2-4
100 cal row
100 lunges
100 box step ups/jumps
100 wall balls
100 kb swings Russian
100 burpees
100 toes to rack lying on back
100 hand release push ups
1000 single unders
100 air squats

 

Michelle Plunkett

“It’s been almost 18 months now at SICFIT. I came with an athletic background and already being in great shape. What’s amazing is I didn’t think I could get that much better. Well I was wrong. My Olympic Lifting keeps getting stronger every month. I am doing workouts with times that would qualify with the girls at Regionals. I still, 18 months later love the energy in the Gym. I also love being around other people that 100% support me and cheer for me to get better. I Love being apart of the community there and can’t imagine being anywhere else. My friends and family laugh because almost every day someone comes up to me and asks wow girl what do you for fitness? Are you a professional athlete?? Feels good at 35 and mother of 3 boys.”- Michelle Plunkett

photo 2 photo 1 photo 3

Paleo, Bro!

I have been working out at SICFIT Scottsdale for a little over three months now and am absolutely hooked.  I attended the Food As Fuel seminar, taught by Coach Ashley Richards shortly after enrolling with SICFIT Scottsdale and doing my first “Baseline” test (which was a real ass-kicker).  I had a background in weight lifting and played sports in high school and intramurals in college so was fairly active and in shape, but for some reason couldn’t shed off the few extra pounds I had accumulated over the countless beers and late night munchies. I was pushing almost 210lbs.  I never really went up in weight and never really went down in weight either.  I just seemed to fluctuate up or down within a pound or two.  I ate decent, not completely healthy, and yet not completely junk food either, and was in the gym lifting weights and doing cardio but still couldn’t shake it.

I had heard of the Paleo diet prior to joining SICFIT Scottsdale from some good friends of mine who have been doing it for over a year now and they have lost an incredible amount of weight between the two of them, and they are never in the gym working out or doing cardio, they maybe go to the gym once a month to play racquetball.  Paleo definitely showed results but I thought that with my work schedule and finances that it would be tough for a recent college grad making his way through life to stick to it and that I would be limited in options as to what to eat, let alone afford it.  But after taking the Food As Fuel seminar offered at SICFIT Scottsdale, I learned everything there was to know about Paleo.  So I decided to dive in headfirst and accept the challenge.  I took my success journal that came with a handy dandy Paleo shopping list with me to Sprouts (along with my friends who are already Paleo), and made my way down each aisle.

Long story short, Paleo is pretty simple once you get the hang of it.  It actually is fairly cheap and inexpensive to shop for foods that are considered Paleo. Bear in mind that I am shopping for myself, I maybe spend $50-$60 in a shopping trip to Sprouts, and that sometimes gives me almost two weeks worth of meats and chicken. And there are Paleo alternatives to almost everything you once loved but isn’t considered to be Paleo (credit clausing).  Oh, and let’s not forget about the bacon, that’s Paleo.  Even going out to restaurants, you can find something on the menu that is Paleoesque or that would fit the diet.  You just have to be mindful and special order it with only egg whites, without cheese, get fruit instead of toast, an extra vegetable instead of rice or beans.  I do have “cheat” days every couple of weekends and still enjoy a drink or two by the pool in the hot summertime sun and on special occasions I’ll eat something I shouldn’t, but don’t go overboard with it.  Now, did it give me results?  Yes.   Before starting at SICFIT Scottsdale I mentioned I was pushing almost 210lbs.  About two months into this new FITness routine, we had to get our body weight in order to RX for the WOD.  I stepped on the scale and low and behold, I was under 200lbs for the first time in almost a year (198lbs to be exact).  Three weeks after that, I weighed in again at home and was down to 192lbs. And the results are noticeable at that, not only in the mirror, but also by friends who I see on a daily basis can see the results and progression.  I can literally tighten my belt down another notch and have it still be comfortable.  I also feel like I am performing much better as well and putting up more PR’s and RXing more of the WODs. -Michael Talarico

Michael Talarico

I want to go to the CrossFit Games by: Austin Groen

“I want to go to the CrossFit Games”

That was my succinct response to Najla Kayyem’s general question, “What are your goals?” Although I didn’t know anything about CrossFit, or the grueling training that was necessary in order to actually accomplish my goal, I had already intrinsically committed myself to doing whatever it took to get there.

Shooting for the stars had never been my thing. Prior to SICFIT Scottsdale I had always been content with idly walking through life without ever aspiring to anything great. I was skinny, insecure, and certainly not badass by any means. However, shortly after becoming a member at SICFIT Scottsdale I quickly found myself craving to be something better than ordinary— to be the best I could possibly be. Najla and Luke adopted me into their family almost instantly, and I never wanted to leave. I was entranced by the hulking “fire breathers” tossing around mind-blowing amounts of weight like it was nothing. Watching people push themselves daily to their absolute limits while being cheered and pushed on by their surrounding classmates captivated and excited me. It was like the ultimate “self-betterment” institute and I wanted to be fully immersed in it at all times.

Looking back I couldn’t have possibly imagined the holistic benefits I would reap from doing CrossFit. I could never have imagined I would become the top athlete in the gym after only a year, or that I would win competitions. I also could have never imagined that by doing CrossFit I would acquire confidence, poise, and an applied dedication in all aspects of my life. I can honestly say that I am a better man thanks to SICFIT Scottsdale (can you say that about your gym?).

 

What makes SICFIT Scottsdale better than any other gym in the state? I could go on and on about the top-notch facilities or the “dialed-in” programming, or even the coaching. But what really makes SICFIT Scottsdale the best is the people.  In what other setting could your gym owner be simultaneously your second father, close friend and training partner? Luke Kayyem is that man for me. SICFIT Scottsdale is a home away from home for me, a place where I can just to hang out. It is a place where I can go to be pushed by those around me to be better than ordinary.

Although I am still far from my ultimate goal of going to the CrossFit Games, I could not be more excited for the journey ahead.

Basically what it comes down to is results, so here they are in numbers.
March 2012:

Bodyweight: 150 pounds

Squat: 135 pound

Overhead Press: 75 pounds

Bench: 155 pounds

Clean and Jerk: 115 pounds

Snatch: 85 pounds

Fran: scaled 9 minutes

 

June 2013:

Bodyweight: 183

Squat: 330

Overhead Press: 165

Bench: 265

Clean and Jerk: 265

Snatch: 230

Fran: 2:46

 

Thank you SICFIT Scottsdale for making me the best me I could possibly be.

 

“Show up don’t quit”

crossfit scottsale 3 crossfit scottsdale 1 crossfit scottsdale 2

Garrett Holt

Thank you SICFIT Scottsdale for your Kids Program!

When we started coming to SICFIT Scottsdale as a family in November 2011, neither of my kids had ever been involved with any sort of organized exercise program. Well, a year and a half worth of SICFIT Scottsdale Kids Classes has provided both my kids (now = 7 year old boy and 5 year old girl) with way more strength, stamina, coordination and confidence than could have been possible otherwise.

For example, my son Garrett was only 5 when we started and, like most of us when we first start performing FUNctional movements, he struggled with some of the movements. Specifically, he was nowhere close to being able to do a basic air squat.   Now, fast forward a year and a half and these are pictures of Garrett playing catcher during a couple of his recent little league games.

Garett Holt

He is the only catcher in his entire division who actually gets into and holds the catcher’s squat for every pitch – all the rest of them start off kneeling or are kneeling after one or two batters.  Garrett LOVES being the catcher and this simply would not have been possible without the SICFIT Scottsdale Kids Program.  Garrett and his best friend Kanon are already making plans when Kanon is pitching for the Yankees and Garrett is the catching for the Orioles – big dreams that Garrett never would have started dreaming if SICFIT Scottsdale hadn’t enabled him to be his best.

You help so many people change their lives for the better, even those that are too young to appreciate it. On behalf of my entire family we are eternally grateful to you.

Sincerely,
John Holt

Jenn Lyles

So, I started CrossFit Scottsdale in mid-November. I had just come home from a work conference and I was sent an online gallery to the photos from our event and saw myself and was sick to my stomach. I couldn’t believe I looked like that. My cheeks were so big that I looked like a squirrel storing up for the winter. I called CrossFit Scottsdale the very next day. image001

I’ve only been with this encouraging, awesome family five months-and it’s been one of the best experiences of my life. I never thought I could see results that would last. I’ve lost weight before, but it’s always come back on weeks later. I can honestly this lifestyle change has dramatically improved my quality of life. I can’t have to have a more dramatic before and after, but for only five months-I’d say there’s a change!

Thanks again to all the great staff and coaches. I’m going to make the most out of my last three weeks here!

Mary Arabyan

At 165 lbs., I wasn’t just overweight, but in pain due to poor nutrition and stress. I put everyone before me, because I wasn’t important. What I wanted or felt didn’t matter. I knew something had to be done, for the sake of my children, but what? I didn’t know where to start, I was too shy to join a gym, didn’t know what diet changes I should make, etc…
Long story short, I started making little changes in my diet, controlling my portions, and went out for an hour walk every day. That walk turned into workout DVDs, then to a gym membership, which then turned into personal training sessions. I made a huge improvement, but was still very far from reaching my goal weight or physique.
One year later, we made a move from California to Arizona.  It was the hardest thing being away from my parents and my sister, but I knew God had a plan for me. Every day I would go the gym to clear my mind, exercise was my therapy.  After about 6 months of living here, I hired a personal trainer who not only helped me make healthier choices but helped me find myself again. I knew what I wanted and it mattered now, and most importantly, I started to love and respect myself again. Exercise and clean eating became my lifestyle. PhotoGrid_1366491294511
As if all these changes weren’t hard enough, I got injured, hurt my lower back; doctors told me it was a herniated disk, and was told to stay away from the gym until my back and core are stronger. (How do you strengthen any area of your body without exercise? I don’t know…interesting doctors out there today. I was told not to run, jump, lift weights or be in a sitting position for more than 20 minutes at a time. At first I followed the doctor’s advice, but came to understand that that didn’t heal anything and it sure didn’t make me happy, the fear of going back to where I was frightened me. No matter what anyone said, my gut feeling was different. I wanted to get out there and run, I wanted to lift weights, go hiking and do all the things I love doing with my boys. It just felt the right thing to do, because my faith was stronger than my fears. So, I went back to the gym, exercised 4-6 days a week and continued eating clean. The pain comes and goes but I have more better days than bad days, so I make the best of it.
At 120 lbs now, I finally feel comfortable in my body and am the happiest I’ve been in the longest time. I’ve ran two half marathons, (because someone once said I can’t run), had a blast at a couple of mud runs and surprised myself with how strong of a woman I am. My next goal was to join CrossFit!
On 6-1-2012 I joined CrossFit Scottsdale and did my baseline workout with finish time of 6:38 –which at the time was great! I’ve since started doing personal training with Coach Erin, who is amazing! I love the fact that she has a list of my goals and every time we meet we work on those goals. CrossFit makes you better at everything!  I love my CrossFit Scottsdale community, we’re all family here, and one person’s success is everyone’s success.  Two weeks ago, I re-did my baseline WOD with a finish time of 5:10! Special thanks to Najla Kayyem and Coach Erin for celebrating my success like no other and for steering me in the right direction. I’m forever grateful!  Having never given up, which is very easy to do when you’re in constant pain, this is how I got to my ‘Now’ picture, and the reason why I’m not saying that’s my after photo is because it’s not! I train like there’s no finish line; I don’t think I’ll ever have an ‘after’ photo, because my goals are endless and I am not a quitter! I can surely say I’m now a good example to my boys as they deserve a healthy role model. – Mary Arabyan

Michelle Plunkett

michelle

My name is Michelle Plunkett. I am 35 years old and a mother of 3 boys under 8. I discovered CrossFit a few years ago. 18 months ago I was not able to do a pull-up, handstand pushup, pistol, lift heavy weight etc.  Since then I have mastered them all and pretty much everything else at Cross Fit. Every day it’s still a challenge and I look forward to trying new things.

A year ago today I did a workout called Bull. I did it with 45 pound ohs and 2 banded pull-ups in 57 mins. Today about a  year later I did it in 47 minutes. It was 400 double under’s,  100 overhead squats at 65 pounds, 100 real pull-ups no band and a 2 mile run. In September I switched over to CrossFit Scottsdale  to upgrade my training. I have always had improvement over the past 18 months but the last 6 months the improvement has totally accelerated thanks to CrossFit Scottsdale and especially Luke Kayyem.

Many women are reluctant to try CrossFit because they are afraid of getting too “big” or bulky but I am 120 pounds!
I truly love this workout and believe it has changed my life and overall fitness. No matter your age or fitness level SCF is an amazing place and will change the way you view fitness and eating.

Rich Rotan

My Crossfit Scottsdale Journey… One year ago, I weighed 209# in the morning and about 213# at night. Don’t ask why I weigh myself twice a day, I just do.  At that time I was a new father to a beautiful girl Audrina Reese Rotan and a loving husband to my beautiful and talented wife Heather Rotan.  “I love you both”.  Then it happened on May 22nd I walked into CrossFit Scottsdale for a scheduled baseline not having a clue of what to expect, halfway through the gym doors I was greeted by a tatted up buff guy who introduced himself as Coach Luke.  He asked me to complete some forms and then proceeded to show me around the place. He asked questions about my fitness level and showed me the high priced equipment everyone was using to get fit. “Okay”. He also talked about taking down some ‘globo gyms’ but I had no clue what he was saying, I wasn’t paying any attention I was still trying to figure out how the f$#% my wife talked me into this shit. After that he asked me to warm up with one of his students by going for a 400 meter run. When I returned we got right into reviewing what the baseline consisted of:  500 meter row, 40 air squats, 30 sit ups, 20 push-ups and 10 pull ups. Just so everyone knows, I had no history of ever working out. I paid a lot of memberships just really never did any time. As I started the row I could hear coach behind me saying keep it under some “number” and “lets go”, about 250 meters in I was thinking I’m never going to make this I’m already gassed out but some how I finished the row and moved into the air squats, holy crap those suck and then the sit ups, holy crap those suck more, and then the 20 push ups, holy crap those suck even more and then the final 10 pull ups, holy crap those suck balls and then “BAM” it was all over, along with the rest of my day. I turned in an outstanding time of 12:08, probably one of the worst in CrossFit Scottsdale history. I still ask people “hey what did you get on your baseline” just to see if I did better then them. Nope none higher. Bunch of liars out there. After the baseline I laid on the ground for about a half hour trying to figure out where my life was going to end. Coach got me some sugar water and then I proceeded to get up and try to make my way to his office. On the way there still woozy and wobbly he said your name is on a puke bucket out back if you need it.  Believing him I headed that way, he quickly stopped me and said, no the restrooms right there make sure you clean up afterwards. I spent a good 15 minutes puking my guts out before getting to his office. He started reviewing the different memberships and pricing options. Again not paying attention. My mind and body were in survival mode and I needed to get the hell out of there and home before death. I told coach I got to go but I will be back to sign up. I’m sure in his mind he was thinking this pus$% I wont see him again.  I sat outside in the car for another 30 minutes before driving home. Thank god the baseline was mid day I probably struck multiple curbs and who knows what else on the way home. However, I do remember walking through my front door to my wife and her looking at me like she had seen a ghost. I headed to the master bath where I spent several more hours laying on the floor while my wife made fun of me. Lasted pretty much the entire day.

The very next day I went to work, It started out like most and quickly turned into the rest, very stressful. I then began thinking about CrossFit and how it affected me the day before. I was able to push my body and mind to a place where I was not able to think about my day-to-day worries and that’s when I made the decision to go back and get signed up. I didn’t join CrossFit because I wanted to be fit I joined because I wanted to go one hour a day where the only thing I could possibly think of is completing the WOD (workout of the day).  To date when I walk into Crossfit Scottsdale I have never thought about what I had to do at work or what stresses may be awaiting me in my personal life.

My major accomplishment at CrossFit Scottsdale over the that last year include completing my first WOD on May 24th 2011, since then I have completed a 4.2 mile Mad Mud Run thanks to the help of Coach Jenn D or better known to fellow students as “The Finisher”.  Thanks for getting us booed because you didn’t want to get muddy at the end. LoL. I have competed in 1 Paleo challenge where I took second place only loosing to the “mayor” of CrossFit Scottsdale Bob Hisle. What a shark.  He still owes me a beer.  My personal records or “PR’s” include 285# deadlift, 170# clean and jerk, 205# back squat, 120# snatch, baseline of 4:44 and a mile time of 7:46.  Recently I participated in Hell Week IV and successfully passed with the rest of the warriors and completed the Pat Tillman run with my wife.  I have passed the level I test and will attempt for the second time the level II on June 21st hopefully putting in a much better performance.  Oh yeah I almost forgot I lost 50 pounds and currently weigh 163# in the morning and 165.5# at night.  Again don’t ask why.

I would like to thank everyone who has played a key role in the transformation of Richard Scott Rotan and the friends I have met through CrossFit Scottsdale who continue to support and push me through every WOD.  A big thank you to Coach Luke and Najla for providing a facility that achieves amazing results and provides the opportunity for people to change there lives. To all the coaches who have been apart of my transformation present and past I thank you and please continue to do what you do because you impact lives for the better. When considering your workout box I highly recommend one place and that is Crossfit Scottsdale.

I’m sad to say but my wife and I will be relocating in the month of August to Vegas baby. No I’m not becoming a stripper with this new body. My wife and I are starting a new chapter in our life. We will be sad to leave behind such and amazing place.  I will never forget what this place has done for me and my family and I will continue to live the lifestyle that has been instilled in me by my CrossFit Scottsdale coaches and fellow crossfitters. Again thank you all and hopefully we will WOD again.

All I can say is “ I Wanna Fran myself like an animal”.

Rich Rotan WOD: “Game Changer” For Time.

Get Married September 2009

Quit smoking March 2010

Move to Scottsdale June 2010

Have a beautiful girl November 2010

Lose 50 pounds May 2011-2012

Move To Vegas 2012